PEN – Netzwerk zur Evaluation politischer Maßnahmen mit Bezug auf gesundheitsbezogene Verhaltensweisen in Europa


Non-communicable diseases (NCDs) are the leading cause of global mortality, responsible for 39.5 million deaths in 2015, which equates to 70% of all deaths. Successful policy actions to address physical inactivity, unhealthy diets and sedentary behaviour have the potential to influence the health and well-being of an entire population. At the public policy level, the initiation, coordination and implementation of policies that enhance opportunities for whole populations to make healthier physical activity- and diet-related choices are necessary. Yet, no systematic research on the assessment or evaluation of policy interventions across Europe is currently being conducted. Consequently, no information on the merit, worth or utility of policy interventions is available and no guidance or recommendations on how to address this gap in our knowledge exists.

As part of the Joint Programming Initiative on a Healthy Diet for a Healthy Life (JPI HDHL, www.healthydietforhealthylife.eu), 28 research institutes from seven European countries and New Zealand have combined their expertise to form a Policy Evaluation Network (PEN).

PEN’s vision is to provide Europe with tools to identify, evaluate and benchmark policies designed to directly or indirectly address physical inactivity, unhealthy diets and sedentary behaviour while accounting for existing health inequities. Using structured evaluation principles and methods, PEN will examine the content, implementation and impact of lifestyle policies across Europe and will build on existing knowledge from DEDIPAC (Determinants of Diet and Physical Activity, www.dedipac.eu) and the INFORMAS (International Network for Food and Obesity/ non-communicable diseases Research, Monitoring and Action Support, www.informas.org) framework.

With seven inter-related work packages (WPs), PEN will provide an overview of the ‘best’ public policies most likely to sustainably reduce physical inactivity, unhealthy diets and sedentary behaviour.


Beginn:   Februar 2019
Ende:   Januar 2022


  • Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF)


Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Wolfgang Ahrens

Projektleitung (international)

Dr Jeroen Lakerveld, Amsterdam UMC (Vumc), Amsterdam, the Netherlands and Prof Catherine Woods, University of Limerick (UL), Limerick, Ireland


  • Dr Olivier Allais (Alimentation et Sciences Sociales (INRA ALISS))
  • Prof Hermann Brenner (German Cancer Research Center (DKFZ))
  • Dr Peter Gelius (Friedrich‐Alexander University, Institute of Sport Science and Sport (FAU-ISS))
  • Dr Janas Harrington (University College Cork (CHDR))
  • Dr Carlijn Kamphuis (Faculty of Geosciences, Utrecht University (HUL))
  • Prof Thomas Kubiak (Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz (JGU))
  • Dr Jeroen Lakerveld (Amsterdam UMC (Vumc))
  • Dr Michael Laxy (Helmholtz Zentrum München (T-HMGU))
  • Prof Nanna Lien (University of Oslo, Institute of Basic Medical Sciences (UiO-PHN))
  • Prof Aleksandra Luszczynska (SWPS University of Social Sciences and Humanities (SWPS))
  • Prof Mario Mazzocchi (University of Bologna (UNIBO))
  • Dr Joerg J. Meerpohl (Medical Center - University of Freiburg (CG-IEM))
  • Dr Gert Mensink (Robert Koch Institute (RKI))
  • Prof Daniele Moro (Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore (UCSC))
  • Dr Laurent Muller (Grenoble Applied Economics Laboratory, French National Institute of Agricultural Research (GAEL-INRA))
  • Dr Celine Murrin (University College Dublin (UCD-PH))
  • Dr Eva Rehfuess (Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München (EBPH-LMU))
  • Dr Piotr Romaniuk (Medical University of Silesia in Katowice (SILVer))
  • Dr Gun Roos (Oslo Metropolitan University (OsloMet))
  • Prof Ingrid Steenhuis (Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam (VU-P&P))
  • Prof Juergen Steinacker (University of Ulm, Division of Sport and Rehabilitation Medicine (UULM))
  • Prof Karien Stronks (Academic Medical Center, University of Amsterdam (PHP-DP))
  • Prof Frank van Lenthe (Erasmus Medical Center Rotterdam (SocialEpiEMCR))
  • Dr Stefanie Vandevijvere (University of Auckland (UOA))
  • Prof Katarzyna Wieczorowska-Tobis (Poznan University of Medical Sciences (PUMS))
  • Prof Catherine Woods (University of Limerick (UL))
  • Prof Joanna Zukowska (Gdansk University of Technlogy (GUT))